“Only the Sith deal in absolutes.” -Obi-Wan

Today I had someone online, a friend of a friend, end their response to an earnest inquiry I made with telling me if I wasn’t helping people who are being actively oppressed then I was the oppressor. That neutrally doesn’t exist. (We are going to come back to the way I see this as untruth, in my personal case.)

“If you are not helping the oppressed you are the oppressor,” gives me flashbacks to my youth and “If your not part of the solution your part of the problem.” Different words meaning basically the same thing.

Every situation in this world is a matter of perspective with both or all sides thinking they are right.

When Obi-Wan said,”Only the Sith deal in absolutes,” this is actually a hypocritical statement. The statement in itself is an absolute, which would make him Sith. Telling someone if they are not on your side they are on the enemy’s side is an absolute, and we can not have balance our world or in our lives living in absolutes or imposing them on other people.

Now this person writing to me didn’t know me personally. I am a peaceful, pacifist, queer, pagan, who does not identify with either major American party and am the last person to be an oppressor. It is both possible and okay for me to not take sides on an issue when I am searching for facts  and questioning everything before I decide how I feel. I do have causes that I support, where I feel like I have enough information and I feel like a group of people is being oppressed and I need to stand by them. (I’ve stood on the side of the Water Protectors in whatever ways I can.) Perhaps, I could see that person’s statement holding validity if I stood by and did nothing, and wasn’t looking for information to form my opinion, which isn’t the case.

If I am not standing on the side of people you think are being oppressed, it’s not for lack of empathy or  compassion,  I’m just working through the mounds of information, misinformation, and hate before I can take a stance. I need to understand before I can stand up. If that makes some people label me as something I am not, so be it. I know I am a kind-heart amazing, human being made up of understanding, compassion, emotions and logic, no one can take that from me.

-Star

Leave a Reply

